My Toy Collecting Journey – The Beginning

My toy collections begin after I graduated from school in 2000. I was working part time & waiting for my National Service enlistment* which was 6 months away so I have lots of time on my hand and I started searching the web for 80’s toys information and found a local forum talking about toys collecting in general, my interest grew and I started searching the local toy shops.

There were a few toy shops around Excelsior Shopping Centre basement which offer good hunting ground but price was steep for a part timer earning SGD$1200 monthly. Back to the forum I went and I got to know of  a Sunday Flea Market @ Clark Quay which has a few stall selling toys at more reasonable price. I was hyper excited and can’t wait for Sunday to come!!!

I arrived @ Clark Quay around 12pm to beat the bargain hunters and found that most of the stalls sold second hand stuff, stamps, collectibles and random toys but very little 80’s toys. I stroll around for a bit and was disappointed, than I overheard a conversation that there was a few shop inside selling M.A.S.K toys, naturally I followed them and voola!!! I saw some M.A.S.K, Transformers and Starcom in their display cabinet!

I still remember I got the following:

1.  M.A.S.K complete Jackhammer for SGD$40

2. Silverhawks loose Tally Hawk for SGD$25

3. Starcom complete Starwolf  for SGD$30

Thus the adventure begins…

That was how I spend most Sundays bargain hunting for 80’s toys until 2005, when the flea market was forced to close down before the government planned to re-develop the area into a more upscale F&B outlet. A lot of owners & collectors was upset and pissed, as collectors we’re at a loss, we’re thinking where can we gather & chat, where to get reasonable toys. It was more than a place that sell toys. It was a place with special feeling for a lot of us as it provided a hangout for toy collectors and a bargain hunting ground.

Luckily most of them relocate to the China Square Central (CSC). Every Sunday, you can visit the Weekend Flea Market with more than 60 vendors selling toy collectibles, antiques pieces, crafts and many more! 

It is held on Sunday at Level 1 & 2, from 11am to 6pm.

Click here to find your way to CSC.

and the adventure continues…

*National Service enlistment explained – requires all male Singaporean son and second-generation permanent residents who have reached the age of 18 to enroll in the military. They serve a 22- or 24-month period as Full Time National Servicemen (NSFs), either in the Singapore Armed Forces (SAF), Singapore Police Force (SPF), or the Singapore Civil Defence Force (SCDF).

source from wikipedia

Leave a comment